ECC 2666-CL19 vs regular 3200-CL16 for a Zen 2 Linux desktop?

Backstory: I need a new work&play Linux desktop, for office-type work, gaming, playing around with virtualisation, now. Zen 2 is the name of the game. However, I’m very unhappy with the current crop of boards, the platform doesn’t feel “done”, yet, and the chipset fan is every bit as bad as I feared (I have a Master in a different build). So I thought, why not get the Asus Pro WS X570-Ace, that could go into my ageing home server as soon as something decent comes along next year or so.

Now, the Ace has official ECC support. For the desktop use-case, that’s nice to have, for the server one it’s a must. So the question is, do I get ECC RAM immediately (and live with the performance penalty of only being able to get 2666 MT/s, CL19), or do I get normal 3200-CL16 RAM (and risk not being able to / wanting to use that in the next system)?

tl;dr: How much of a performance hit do I incur with ECC 2666-CL19 vs regular 3200-CL16 on Zen 2 (under Linux)?
Does running ECC even make sense on a desktop? Is faster unbuffered ECC RAM likely to be available in couple of months?

I really wouldn’t bother with ECC for a desktop, I would for a workstation that will be left on rendering stuff that I rely on for work. My basic rule is, if the machine is used to earn money and keep a roof over your head then ECC is a must, otherwise there is probably little point.

The production quality for modern Dimms means the frequency of errors occurring is much lower than say 15 years ago. In terms of performance advantage by using faster, lower latency non-ECC it will depend on the workload, and probably be most noticeable in gaming frame rates.

I recently got some16gb 2666 cl 19 b-die ecc for my 1920x off of ebay. I can run 2 sticks at 3200 cl17. Without any heat spreaders or heatsinks. 4 full passes on memtest 86.

Then I got a 3rd stick (1 of my memory channels doesnt work, I need to investigate more).