Eating on $25 a week?

So I've got to do this project for a class, figured I'd see what poverty dinner is like. My work basically provides lunch for free, what would you guys suggest I do for breakfast/dinner at $25USD a week? Anything but plain ramen, and I'm a half decent cook. I've been adding stuff like cabbage and hot sauce to ramen for a while now, but that's getting old.

TL;DR: What can I eat for $25 a week that's not just ramen?

1 Like

Congee.

1 Like

For breakfast, Oatmeal is a pretty cheap go-to option. You can typically get a month's supply of the cheap stuff for less than $5

As for more substantial meals, you really want to avoid heavily processed foods like condensed soups/ramen. Rice with steamed vegetables is cheap and it's easy enough to save the leftovers and mix them in with your next meal.

The hardest part is going to be getting good amounts of protein. Once again, leftovers will be your friend so making a single pound of meat last at least two meals is ideal.

a dozen of eggs has protein though, he would probably have to eat an egg a day.

• Baked beans + poached eggs on toast. (buy the baked bean tins in bulk) ~ heaps of protein.
  • + 1 for bulk rice as well - even chuck some in for soups as well, helps fill em out.
  • local markets - a little money can go a long way for end of day specials.

Potatoes.

3 Likes
  • Rice
  • Pasta
  • Vegetables
  • Fruit
  • Beans/Legumes
  • Grains

Cheapest things you'll typically find. Find a local farmers' market and often get them for even cheaper.

Decent website for recipes: http://www.budgetbytes.com/

Flour is fairly cheap, and very versatile.

Bread. (especially flatbread.)
Pancakes.

A nice break from Rice and Beans.