Easiest Way For a Novice Dev to Make a SOAP Service

I am a novice developer and am looking at starting a project to create a SOAP service to handle Windows WS-Print queries and jobs.

I’ve found that when Windows discovers a printer on the network it attempts to connect to it using WS-Print rather than IPP. I want to build a service to handle the WS-Print queries/requests and send the print jobs to CUPS.

What is the best route to do this? Python or Apache+PHP or something else? Is there a framework with documentation that I can use for this?

Even better. Is there something out there that does this already?

Oh jeez, SOAP and WSDL, blast from the past.

Between php and Python, definitely Python.

See this library: https://github.com/rayrapetyan/flask-spyne

Looking at the spec, in addition to main function and a server class, with some flask decorators, you’ll need some classes to hold the request/reply structures with fields relevant to you, and methods to do marshalling/unmarshalling to/from xml… that library will help, it even has some tiny examples.

Grab vscode, git for windows, python for windows, windows terminal, some kind of Linux command line environment like wsl; (unless you’re already using Linux in which case this is easier, grab what you’re missing). And get cracking.

Usual setup would be to start with a virtual environment for a project, that’s self contained in a directory/folder, and where you could pull in your dependencies without requiring admin/root privileges, or having to install them system wide and pollute the system you’re working on. python -m venv will bootstrap this folder for you. Then you “activate” that environment in your shell you’re working from, or where you’ll later run vscode in, and you can pip install whatever dependencies you need right there into your project dir (deps like that library above) and then just keep iterating (change code, run, change code, run, …).