Earth Heading Towards a Black Hole

Topic for the level one news

1 Like

Eh we will either be a space race by then or extinct

5 Likes

I have little knowledge of black holes. But I question if the laws of physics apply within their grasp.

I guess a fair question is, what speed is our solar system approaching Sagittarius A at?

I don’t think this is that kind of map. :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

Its theorized that every galaxy has a super massive black hole at it’s center not just ours.

As far as predicting the exact path of earth in relation to it I don’t think that’s what this story is about, and there’s no way to really know. We can’t even predict the path of would-be killer asteroids past 100 years or so, because of the chaotic effects of being gravitationally bound by so many different objects.

I suppose that may be an easier job with bigger things. First because bigger things are easier to find, and because only even bigger things would have more gravity than they do, but it’s still the same problem.

1 Like

There are a multitude of catastrophic events that are bigger threat to this place before we hit that SM black hole in the allotted time.

Imagine a giant flying star (rogue) just flying by our solar system. I wonder how close it would have to be to us to kill us all.

Solar flares, asteroids, strange matter… I am surprised we are still here =D

3 Likes

Well it might not be as bad as someone might think. Everything that gets near the event horizon becomes spaghetti, which are very nice. So everything becomes spaghetti and all the bad in the universe disappears!

At least OP is optimistic enough to even consider humanity will live long enough to be measurable on a cosmic timescale, before we inevitably destroy our entire race (apart from a few offshoots, who wither and succumb to the realities of non-terraformed hostile planets)

In the end, the Italians win. So much for pineapple in pizzas