Dubstep Linux

I want to make a version of Linux (probably based on Ubuntu or Mint (which ik is based on Ubuntu anyway) because it's what I'm most familiar with). Essentially, dubstep central. All of the system sounds are different sounds typically found in dubstep music. But graphically, when a window is opened, it wobbles like jelly to a short beat, and the desktop reacts to mouse movement, increasing tempo and bass based on mouse movement. File transfers are like a bass drop, building up until it completes, and then BOOM! Wubwubwub. Essentially the most useless, non-productive Linux distro in the world. But it would be so worth it. What do you guys think? How hard would something like this be? I'm no expert, not by a long shot... But it'd be a fun project.

I'm no expert but this sounds like something you may want to wait to start on. I don't know how much Linux experience you have, but this might require tweaking a LOT of system software (like file managers and desktop environments).

1 Like

Yeah... The complexity is what I was worried about. Erggh I wish I knew more about all this xD

It's a funny idea, and it's probably possible, but you probably want to get some more experience "messing around" with Linux before you dive into something this big. Speaking from experience, biting off more than you can chew with Linux (or networking) is a recipe for frustration. For example, back when I knew almost nothing about networking, I tried to set up a DNS server with bind9 entirely from the command line. I ended up switching to Webmin as an admin tool because I got so frustrated that I didn't want to do it anymore. For years I was scared of the thought of setting up a DNS server without an easy GUI admin tool, and the other day I got curious and started looking at my BIND config, and discovered now that I knew what I was doing, it looked a lot more user-friendly.