Drives and durability with SSDs vs HDDs

Lets say I have external 250GB Intel SSD (about 8 months old), and an external 2 TB Western Digital HDD (probably green). Nothing super high end here, but both drives are pretty good performers. They are both attached to my NAS, which is limited by USB 3.0, and gigabit ethernet. The NAS does have a 5 drive zfs raidZ1, but I would rather avoid spinning those drives up constantly, unless I truly have some substantial work to have off to it. More on that....

I am wondering about an always on situations or frequent activity, other than colder storage situations. For example, I am a developer, so consistent Git Repository commits, or syncing files between machines throughout the day. Even downloading or seeding torrents over night, or for days.

Maybe I should regret not buying NAS drives, but I do think the there is some considerable play with hardware, which I am curious about.,,

So NAS, or server grade drives are an obvious consideration, but I am wondering if SSDs are better suited for constant or frequent loads, as opposed to spinning disks? Obviously SSD have limited writes, but HDD have moving parts which I imagine are less efficient for constant loads, or file checking overnight, etc. This is for a small office / development studio, so I'd like to avoid heat and noise, and minimize energy as much as possible.

Can anyone speak to this, or suggest maybe a proper setup here? Is this a situation where an addition SSD raid might be sort of attractive, or perhaps I am just smarter to simply backup a single larger SSD to a raid pool, like one or twice a day, as needed?

1 Like

For constant reading and writing, an SSD is probably going to die faster than a higher end hard drive, since once it runs out of writes it's done.

Also intel SSDs have a safety or kill switch depending on your point of view, that makes the drive run read only when it feels it's about to run out of writes.

Just buy an HGST drive and worry less.