Do you need to take some "security" steps with a used Android phone/tablet, bought on eBay?

I just received my NEW Samsung Galaxy View T677A 18.4" 64GB WiFi & 4G Unlocked AT&T T-mobile Tablet.
Well, not actually “new”, the item description actually says:

This Tablet is a overstock/ Customer trade in carrier or Store return in “New Other” condition and is fully functional, Cosmetically 9 out of 10 condition : We purchase the Unit only in large wholesale lots. We then add the accessories prior to resale, Included Will Be, Tablet, Stand, Generic High Quality Charger, Micro USB Cable. ThisTablet is Already unlocked For any GSM sim card , IMEI was not reported lost or stolen.

This is my very first time buying a “used” phone/tablet from ebay. I have never been interested in mobile stuff. I just do not have time for it, mostly because it simply changes too fast. So I am completely out of touch about anything Android rooting and rom reinstalling related.
Although now, I am actually worried, if I should be…

1. Should I be worried that the tablet may be maliciously pre-installed with some bad malware or viruses? My worst case paranoia scenario is I connect this tablet to my home wi-fi and it infects my home computers with crypto viruses… Am I totally stupid, or would this be actually possible?

2. Are there any recommended steps to do, with a “used” Android phone/tablet from eBay? I mean, to ensure that thing is not a Pandora’s box…?

3. Lastly, can this tablet be rooted? Or where should I look for “trusted” informatin on rooting it? XDA Forums?

4. I bought this tablet for my 95 year old grandmother :slight_smile: The only thing she’s gonna be using it for - will be Skype. The current Samsung Note 10.1 works kinda OK, but I needed something very simple to use, with a bigger screen. The touchscreen was a must, obviously. I decided on this android tablet.