Displayport/KVM Blues

Greetings folks
I have been building PC’s for a few decades now and finally feel have a nice little setup with one PITA issue. I have been diving into forums and research for a month now and am at my wits end to find an answer (or at least an answer i am happy with). As the title suggest i am having issues finding a decent KVM for my DisplayPort setup.

I currently have a 3 to 4 system setup with a 6 +1 monitor setup. I have tried several KVM’s and will probably get the Level1 KVM to test when they become available in a couple weeks. The main issue i am having is that often my other systems will not display properly or at all when switching between them. It disconnects the monitors and then sits in the “entering power saver” mode. I have swapped cables and systems on ports to narrow it down, but seem to be chasing my tale. System A works on one KVM but not another. System B will work for a minute but then will either disconnect or wont reconnect when switching back. I Just got in a new batch of cables to try that and see what happens. From what i am finding is that the disconnecting is just a normal and unavoidable thing with displayport. Besides the disconnect i also have the rearranging of windows that is a PITA to rearrange when dealing with 6 monitors.

Help Me Level 1, your my last hope.

Systems:
System A
Motherboard: Asrock X79 Extreme9
CPU: 4930K
GPU: Radeon HD 7700
Windows 10 v1803

System B
Motherboard: Asus Crosshair VI Hero
CPU: Ryzen 1800X
GPU: EVGA GTX 1070 Ti

Sysem C
Motherboard: MSI X370 SLI PLUS
CPU: Ryzen 1700x
GPU1: EVGA GTX 1050 Ti
GPU2: EVGA GTX 1050 Ti

Monitors: Dell UltraSharp 24" u2414hb

KVM’s i have tried:
Vertiv Avocent 4-Port Dual-Head DisplayPort 4K Ultra HD KVM Switch (SV340D)
StarTech.com SV431DPDDUA2 DisplayPort KVM, 4 port, 4K 60Hz, Dual Monitor KVM, DisplayPort Switch
IOGEAR 2-Port DisplayPort 1.2 KVMP Switch with USB 3.1 Gen1 Hub and Audio (TAA Compliant) GCS1932

1 Like