[Devember2021] Forum Server

Hi my name is Dawid, I’ve been a fan of Level1 news for quite some time so I decided to participate in devember this year. Although I started working on the devember project about a week ago, I haven’t gotten much of it done. I’m doing cs degree right now and I have a lot of projects due by the end of November which will take priority (eventually :slight_smile: ).

There is a niche in light-weight forum software where not many options exist. The go-to opensource forum is Discourse, but that’s 3MB of javascript bloat just to load up the page. Many alternatives that are more lightweight often have issues like

• Being very old
  • In-extensible
  • Lacking modern features or conveniences

There may be some great software out there that I haven’t seen, but honestly, I don’t care. I want to make this anyway for my personal use. I’m not a great programmer by any means, but I think I can make a somewhat competent forum server.

Features

What I would like to implement

• Easily extensible static forum. Basically a backend that injects forum posts and comments into requested html files. Like a server-side static side generator that renders pages with new posts. See ycombinator’s hacker news.
  • Create threads
  • Post comments on threads
  • Search threads by category
  • Login and register ( no email, that would take too long to get right)
  • Login with github

Nice to have

• Management console. I am awful at react (and any kind of frontend work) so this is just something I would like to have.

Nice to have, but very unlikely to finish

• Enable multiple backend instances to write to a single “writable” instance and have all the others be read only.

Of course, the ultimate goal is to get something done. I would like to get a tangible final product that I could use in production. I’m going to need to setup a forum around January, so if all goes well I’ll be able to use my own software.

• The backend is written in go