[Devember 2022] Open-source typescript serverside lambda/functions

Hello everybody.

A little late to the party, but I’ve been thinking about this for some time. I figure it warrants posting the work I’ve been doing on this for Devember.

Info

Me

I’m Raoul, I’m enthusiastic about typescript, IOT, backend, networking, databases and embedded. I’m a student from the netherlands. You can find me on github.

Project

I’m building a package/framework to build and run lambda/functions-ish applications. Basically, I want to make a small function in typescript, rust, go, c or c++ and run that on demand with custom input arguments.

Start

I’ve started working on this a couple of days ago and tried getting a small prototype to work with WebAssembly modules (WASM). This would create a secure context. But I couldn’t find a way to compile typescript with all the node modules to wasm. This was a major problem, so I switched to using npm pack to make a tgz package. Which is installed on the runner and is imported to run the ‘function’. To run rust, c and c++ I would compile to wasm and use some typescript glue to run it. Dependency management is already included in the npm package, so I don’t have to worry about that.

Current

As of today, I’ve got a working prototype with npm pack and a simple demo runner to test functions.

Road ahead

Things on the roadmap are:

• Server runner
  • Functions storage
  • Queueing / scheduling
  • Multithreading and/or clustering
2 Likes

Update 1

I’ve been working on building the parts needed for the server. Single runner demo is working and added code to the repo: raouldeheer/ts-functions (github.com)

1 Like

Update 2

I’ve added a temporary database (mongodb). It’s good enough for dev & testing. Added some models, not sure about the functionjob model with the status and logging. Also added a file download function.

Update 3

There haven’t been a lot of update and work on the project because I’ve been remarkably busy in Januari.