Devember 2021 programming a wireless microcontroller

I’m going to program a microcontroller that reacts (LED, siren, etc…) to various metrics received over wireless from other devices.

I am an Excel/Google Sheets expert but I don’t have much coding experience. My main goals for this project:

• Understand the best microcontroller board for this product that meets my needs
  • Understand how to receive wireless communications
  • Practice proper documentation for coding
  • Try to understand and use Github

I look forward to this challenge. I’m sure I will run into many problems, challenge my small amount of coding knowledge, and complete my first real coding project.

5 Likes

If you have a budget and want to go with a well supported platform that has lots of libraries and knowledgable people on. I’d say look at the many projects people have built with the ESP32 It’s a Wifi chip that can do basic IO. Good enough for a lot of hobbyist sensors out there.

2 Likes

DANGER WARNING DANGER: In order to drive LEDs and sirens and build useful microcontroller stuff successfully you’ll also inevitably end up venturing into electronics a fair bit. If you’re lucky, it’ll cost you at least $200 in various bits and bobs and tools and chips from China (AliExpress/Banggood) and who knows where else (Amazon, mouser, digikey) and in return you might only get a bunch of wasted time and junk and clutter all around your living space, and a bitter sense of failure.

There’s plenty of people around these forums who encourage such behavior, it doesn’t mean it’s the right fit for everyone, physical and usually even worse mental self-harm are not excluded outcomes.

Usually, this type of thing is very niche and not a “very social sport”, it’s mostly an individual activity unless you count new friends/weird people you may run into online. Relationships have suffered as a result of engaging into this type of thing.