[Devember 2021] Multi-currency Crypto Wallet (Open Source)

EDIT: GitHub repo here: https://github.com/jquindlen/commandwallet

Long time Tek Sy Level1Techs fan, first time caller. I’ve been consuming the Level1News every week since early 2017. Thanks for the work and the contest!

I’m a few weeks into this project already, but haven’t made the first git commit yet.

Lately, I’ve been paying the bills with crypto and have used most of the major wallets (and developed some preferences along the way.) I’ve also been doing blockchain development. In order to further my understanding of practical blockchain applications, I want to code a multi-crypto wallet.

Here are my project highlights:

• Support at least the Ethereum, Bitcoin, and Nano networks.
  • Support at least ETH, BTC, and NANO by end of December 2021.
  • Allow new wallet creation, either on it’s own or with a specified private key.
  • Open wallets using a private key or mnemonic phrase.
  • Send from wallet.
  • Receive to wallet with QR code generation.
  • Wallet address book to save public keys to.
  • Portfolio view with a pie chart or something similiar.
  • Regularly pull down BTC, ETH, and NANO prices.
  • Implement an API proxy server on Linode to cache API requests to the various crypto networks and crypto information APIs that the wallet will rely on.

I’m an old programming veteran and I’ve completed projects far more ambitious in scope than this little walk around the park.

Anyway, I could ramble on but I’ll save that for some “meat and potatoes” posts here once I’ve got some actual progress to share.

3 Likes

Dear dev dairy: why is procrastination so addicting?

Still no git commit, but once I have my MVP done I’ll upload here: