[Devember 2020] Learn Python and dust of my braincells

I was once a capable programmer in BASIC, COBOL, and Pascal (Delphi). I began learning C and Java but never finished my degree. I worked as a network engineer and system analyst for some time, but I have never gotten back into programming. I ended up spending a number of years in the Army, spending little time with computers professionally until a couple of years ago when I was appalled to find myself more knowledgeable than the corporate head of networking regarding security, VPNs, and Linux. I sat next to a server with unpatched, known hardware vulnerabilities, connected to the internet through a ten-year-old firewall appliance via ISDN, and was told that ARM and Linux were too insecure to be on our network.

I want to be able to help my children (who are learning python) so I need to learn. This challenge might be just the thing to get me to enjoy coding again.

2 Likes

You should have dug for reasons I´d be impressed if your corporate head of networking can dig up anything to support his statement. :sweat_smile:

With Linux you can at least argue that if the user has no clue then yes it´s absolutely capable of being insecure too.

How youd argue arm is insecure with all the x86 security issues every other months i don´t know though. Like… compared to what?

Good luck on your python journy. :slight_smile:

1 Like

unless they’re running BSD on everything

got your journey figured out already?

udemy is on black friday sales, fairly cheap

I personally found Python’s official documentation is really excellent place to start, you can get quite far just from following their tutorial and in-depth explanations compared to most tutorials or even online courses.

Trust me, I was baffled by the statement of insecurity too, especially since our servers weren’t yet patched for numerous known hardware security vulnerabilities.