Developer Rig

Hi,

I am a developer who spends 50% of my time on the road.

I am looking for a new laptop that would be portable but also capable of supporting my development needs.

I often run several VM’s that run Linux Apache, Mysql for web development and also docker containers. I also run Xcode, php-storm sql workbench.

I updated my macBook pro with a 2TB SSD and maxed out memory (16GB) but the core i5 is really feeling the strain.

I’d also like to do some gaming.

What system would work best given my above requirements.

I’d look into the Dell XPS 15.

You can spec out one with a 1TB Pcie SSD (but technically you could buy a 2TB ssd seperately and upgrade the one in the XPS 15), 32GB of ram, with a quad core I7 and a Gtx 1050.

1 Like

Thanks, Is quad core the best I can do ?

Yes I would need at least 2 TB as my projects and assets are very large I already have 1.4 TB of Data.

For mobile?

Pretty much. There are one or two Ryzen 1700 8 core laptops out there though I don’t know if they are available or how good they are overall.

2 Likes

Currently, quad core is the most you can get on a laptop processor. There are technically some laptop with Ryzen 8 core processors, and there is one laptop out there with a 6 core Intel Coffee lake processor, but those are very bulky, loud, and not very long lasting (battery wise) machines.

If you want to do 2TB, the only real way I can see you doing it in a machine like the XPS 15 with its single drive slot is to get a say 512GB model and then swap the drive for one of these:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LY3Y9PH/?tag=pcpapi-20

Yes the XPS looks good not sure about the touch screen.

I Have a desktop with a Samsung NVMe and it is very fast so That would be a great option, I wasn’t sure if that was upgradeable in modern laptops as I’ve been running a Mac.

Can the XPS run Mac OS as I develop for iPhone also ?