Deactivate Intel RST / Optane

Hey guys,

I’m facing a problem where my BIOS doesn’t allow disabling Intel RST/Optane. It remaps my NVMe to use it with the Intel RST driver. I found a kernel patch but am unable to patch it as it’s too old for the 4.19 or 5.6 ones. It always get rejected and I am not a developer. For some reason there is no option to disable RST in the BIOS of my Dell Inspiron 7490 even though it clearly states that Intel RST RAID Mode is turned on. I can only deactivate the SATA Controller completely, which doesn’t help.

For me flashing the BIOS with a programmer is an option if nothing else works. But wouldn’t it be possible to set it via efi-vars like it can be done with dvmt prealloc? Kinda like that: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/…etting-dvmt-in-insydeh20-bios-laptops.165104/

I attached my extracted IFR file and a BIOS dump. All relevant options are turned off by default if I see this correctly but it definitely is enabled. I tried resetting the BIOS as well.
I hope somebody is able to help me!

Setup IFR.txt (1.4 MB) bios.zip (5.1 MB)

Is this to install Linux, or simply trying to correct something that shouldn;t actually be causing a problem in Windows?

Yes I want to install Linux!

Okay, the reason I ask, is because of the text of your first post.

A simple search for “disable RST Dell Inspiron 7490” led here, which led here on the last page and it seemed that endlessOS might be the way.

It seemed a dev from Endless tried to upstream a fix for the kernel to work with RST switched off, but the patch was rejected.
The post implied the Endless dev maintains their own separate branch of the kernel, which Might work

But Again, the wording of your OP suggests you already did a search, and already found this info.

Did you try running EndlessOS?

Wow yeah I did a lot of searching and knew that an endless dev made a patch that was rejected, but I didn’t find that. Thank you!