De-Microsofting myself. Looking at Linux

All of the telemetry, and clandestine system updates in Windows, is really making me want to run Linux and browse through a VPN. The hard part is, that I am a student, and half of my classes involve Windows environments and Vbscript and what not. I know, from a student productivity standpoint, Linux has Libre Office. I'm not worried about that, I'm just worried about playing that odd game from time to time. How easy is VGA passthrough to a Windows VM for a Linux initiate? I'm not real concerned about high latencies, i'm not competitive, just a filthy casual.

I have a Ryzen R5 1600, and I have the Tomahawk B350 board.I haven't built the system yet, but i'm wondering if I might have chosen the wrong board.

So to sum up, VGA passthrough do-able for a rookie? Even worth the time? Or should I just put up with Microsoft's gluttony of my personal information?

*Edit I should say i'm planning on grabbing a Gtx1070. Currently running a Skylake i3 build, with an Rx470. Better to go with AMD gpus for passthrough?

I'd recommend looking over /r/vfio on reddit, and joining their discord. They're very helpful to newcomers.

If you don't want to think about setting it up, unRaid might be a good option for you.

note that running Win10 in a vm does nothing for telemetry if you don't firewall the VM and constrict it's access extensively, which is a whole other can of worms.

AMD cards typically cause less headaches in trying to pass them through. I'm currently using a fury and the install was painless as it could be (it occasionally fails to power down on crashes but that's a pretty minor bug as far as gpu passthrough is concerned.

From what I understand, IOMMU on ryzen is a really mixed bag, It changes on a board to board basis and few companies are seriously gearing up support for it.

1 Like

Wendell actually just created a review of the Tomahawk Here > https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-6P9dfCqW-g