Custom Linux service for a VLC stream?

I'm sure this is a dumb question, especially considering I've been using Linux for a lot of things for over 3 years now. But I'm asking anyway

I have a streaming server (at school for a broadcasting class) running on a Core 2 Quad box running Ubuntu 14.04LTS server. We do our streaming using cvlc (the command-line version of VLC, for those who don't know), and now that we've got streaming settings we like, I'd like to see if I can make it a service which starts automatically on startup. The trick is what it does. This server isn't an AIO solution, it is only responsible for transcoding. It receives the stream over a network via UDP, and transcodes it and serves it up in Theora/OGG via HTTP.

If I want to make an init script for this, how would I do it? I want it to start automatically on boot, but it MUST start after almost everything else, most importantly the network services since it receives the stream via a network. Let's say for now, to save space, that the streaming command is cvlc MYSUPERCOOLSTREAMCRAP. How would I set up an init script for that so that it starts automatically, can be restarted or stopped by root, and stops automatically when you shut down the server?

I know this is a weird use case, so if you have questions about why I'm doing it the way I am, ask away. Just need some help on this.

TL;DR - How would I create an init.d script for a given command that starts last on boot and shuts down first on power off?

If your OK with it starting at login rather than at boot, (it starts after everything else and would stop first), you could add a .desktop file into the ~/.config/autostart/ folder with a format a bit like this:
and auto-login

[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Name=<Name of application as displayed>
Exec=<command to execute>
Icon=<full path to icon>
Comment=<optional comments>
X-GNOME-Autostart-enabled=true