Current state of Skype on Linux?

Literally the last thing keeping me on Windows

I HAVE to use Skype and it must work with Skype on the Windows platform (as in my linux box connecting to a Windows pc).

I know that there are alternatives but its how I talk to my kids and they arent able to use something else.

Microsoft recently announced the end of 'support' [lol] (and their intentional bricking) of Skype for Linux so that ONLY skypre for Linux Alpha/Beta will work. Can this work with a Windows client?

Any help/advice appreciated.

1 Like

Works fine? Its what you would expect from skype. Has some cli controls which is interesting.

Got upgraded for skype 4.4 recently which is nice. Dupports video, multilayer sound, rather modern for an app that died in 2012.

1 Like

I'm sure that's just not true.

But anyway, Skype 5 for Linux is available as well as of this month.

3 Likes

I have been using skype on Fedora for several years. I'm currently at fedora 25. I install it from lpf-skype, and I use it at work. Every thing works, I can invite to meetings, share my screen and all the rest.

1 Like

No - its true. They are too young to do it themsleves ( 6 and 8 ) and their mother does everything she can to piss me off (divorced) so theres that..

Skype 5.0.0.5 works great under linux, been using it for a while, I have had no issues with it so far, interface is pretty much the same as the windows version.

And also there is the web version ...

I've been using Skype Alpha on Fedora 25, and RHEL for a while now. It works fine for me (message and video calls.) I've rarely ran into any bugs as of yet; it dose not have that Windows 8/10 design yet

Microsoft is working on rolling out a new version indeed.
I think its currentlly in Alpha state.

I have been using ghetto Skype and love it. Unfortunately video calls are not yet supported.

Skype on Linux supports video calls... Unless ghetto Skype is something else?
Though if your able I'd recommend something else.