Creating a Home Lab - Learning to be Useful in the Real World

I’m a total beginner when it comes to enterprise gear and don’t know what the heck to do with it.

I want to create a home lab. I don’t know exactly what I need, or what I’m doing to with it once it’s done. All I know is that I want to learn skills that make me employable.

I have some disposable income, but I aim to be frugal and only buy what is necessary.

What I have so far:

• 25U server rack

• Dell R710 12c, 48GBs RAM, HBA card

• An old SuperMicro 1U chassis with 8c 16GBss DDR2

• 24 port gigabit un-managed switch

• RBPi 2, and a Lenovo thin client

• My PC, Ryzen 5, 32GBs RAM

Everything besides my PC was second hand and relatively cheap.

Things I want:

• Robust file storage

• Virtualization

• PXE boot server

• Thin client server

• PBX server

• Someting that requires VLANs for the sake of learning VLANs

• A web server, so I can learn to be secure against the onslaught of the internet.

I'm open to other ideas. I'm looking to mirror real world problems/solutions.

Well what hypervisor you have on the old dell?

Proxmox. I’m familiar with it on a surface level. I’ve never tried VMWare

I should add that my current plan is to pick up another Dell R710. I can get it on ebay for $270 US. Initially, I was thinking use one for storage and one for virtualization.

I have successfully virtualized FreeNAS, but I’m actually not sure if that the safest thing to do for data preservation.

For long term I would not have my backup system virtualized. Everything else just start playing with it. VLANS and such just start making it happen. Lawrence Systems on YouTube has good stuff.

His content is a little dry sometimes, but it is succinct and accurate. Would recommend.

Ordered another Dell R710 to use just for FreeNAS. Considering ordering a managed Ubiquiti switch.