Creating a cloud storage server on Linode or such

Hey,
I have zero background in computers and i dont understand technical terms and such but i love to be tinkering. I was wondering if i can create a “cloud storage server” using linode or such. And if yes how?

initially this is what i had typed as i was researching
" I have been using iCloud for quite a while now to store everything that i might need anywhere and as a backup to all the work/academic work that i never want to loose. I’ll be done with college in the next few months and i am planning to ditch my laptop (MacBook Pro 2017) for a variety of reasons. I had been using icloud, as the computers i used in college are macs, and i have an ipad pro that i use all the time, also from what i know its more private thatn Google Drive and Onedrive. I hate google. Once I graduate I will be having a linux box or something, so iCloud isn’t any convinient for me anymore. I would like to know of a cloud storage service which is private, preferably opensource, and does not claim any rights to use my data for their needs.

I am not a data hoarder, so I dont need a lot of storage, sub 500GB storage works great for me. I am ready to pay the equivalent of $8-10 per month for the storage. "

I think the quick and and dirty answer is to deploy a Nextcloud server on an ubuntu/debian server via snap but your experience would probably be horrible if you use the 5USD tier of server.

Personally i’d probably go for a Debian server that you only spin up during the actual backup process then run rsync or another program to do the actual syncing. Then power down the server again.

Yes, you can. I have a VPS at a similar company to Linode, and am running a couple of services from it. Nextcloud, Syncthing, and a couple of non-storage things.