Couple of questions regarding PCI-E Passthrough windows VM gaming (VR, Audio DAC, Streaming)

Before anything this is my first time posting on the forum so please tell me if I did anything wrong.
It’s been a long time I wanted to make the switch to Linux after trying so many distros (mint,ubuntu,arch…) But after watching Linus video with level1tech his videos and someordinarygamer’s on PCI-E passthrough Vfio/iommu QEMU windows setups I think I’m ready to make the switch, however I feel like to be 100% sure I would need to get these questions answer and hopefully you could help me make my final decision.

The first question is could I even do it with my current rig? If not the rest still interests me as I’m planning on eventually buying a whole new setup so here’s my specs:

• i7 4770K Haswell CPU
  • B85M Asrock motherboard
  • GTX 970
  • 16Gb RAM DDR3
  • 512Gb SSD and 1Tb SSHD
  • Wifi/Bluetooth PCi card

My second question might be a really stupid one:
Could I use my secondary monitor with my linux host while the VM is not running?
I plan on having the host run off the integrated HD4600 graphics and the windows machine on my GTX 970.

As I have two drives I wonder if I could dedicate my 1Tb hard drive only to the windows machine so I use the snappy SSD only for my host linux and I don’t want one taking space on the other OS, can it be done?

I know that 2 sets of mice and keyboards are necessary during the installation process but when that’s done could I be using a software solution like Synergy (it’s the only one that comes to mind rightnow) in order to navigate between host and VM with only using 1 mouse and 1 keyboard?
And if that works would there be additionnal input lags during a gaming session?