Confused on Reddit Json

Hey Guys!

I’m just learning Kotlin after I went through a developement course on java on android (I’ve also done javeFX before that) and I’m up to json implementation with database and paging through a network.

I know my languages and how json works (if not please tell me) but I’ve come across on how to pull database data into a json_encode and go from there, however it’s in php.

What I’ve looked at is that reddit get’s it’s json data from a json file, and it updates instantly. This is either it has listeners when new information has been submitted and creates and overwrites the json file from other code, or, I am missing something.

Here’s an overview of what I’m looking at:

Reddit Json url API
https://www.reddit.com/r/androiddev/hot.json
See that it’s a json file?

My url PHP API
http://json.test/data.php
On a local test server

PHP API Code

<?php
	//database constants
	define('DB_HOST', 'localhost');
	define('DB_USER', 'root');
	define('DB_PASS', '');
	define('DB_NAME', 'test');

//connecting to database and getting the connection object
	$conn = new mysqli(DB_HOST, DB_USER, DB_PASS, DB_NAME);

//Checking if any error occured while connecting
	if (mysqli_connect_errno()) {
		echo "Failed to connect to MySQL: " . mysqli_connect_error();
		die();
	}

//creating a query
	$stmt = $conn->prepare("SELECT id, user FROM names LIMIT 2");

//executing the query 
	$stmt->execute();

//binding results to the query 
	$stmt->bind_result($id, $user);
	$data = array(); 

//traversing through all the result 
	while($stmt->fetch()) {
		$temp = array();
		$temp['id'] = $id; 
		$temp['user'] = $user; 
		array_push($data, $temp);
	}

//displaying the result in json format
	header("Content-Type: application/json; charset=UTF-8");
	echo json_encode(array("data"=>$data));
?>

See that the browser recognizes it as json data

{
  "data": [
    {
      "id": 1,
      "user": "John"
    },
    {
      "id": 2,
      "user": "Mary"
    }
  ]
}