Complete beginner in need of guidance

Hi everyone (my first post so i thought i'd be polite),

I'd like ask what are the steps required in making pc games (mostly simple 2d indie stuff). I don't want any cliche` stuff like "Sitdown and visualise what you want your game to look like" or "You must first know yourself" lolz.

But I wud like to know the first technical steps like

1) What's a good programming language to learn? (C++ maybe?)

2) What programs do I need to download?

3) What level of harware do I need?

I'm not really looking to make money off of this... It's more like an interest of mine... Not saying some extra cash wouldn't be nice...

Thanks in advace for any help,
Nick 

any hardware will do and what languages do you know, if you don't know any then start off with java then work your way to C++

programs, theres a million just depends on what type of language and type of game you want to make

I'd suggest a run and gun like Megaman zero but that's just me maybe a turn based RPG might be more suited

thanks man... i appreciate the input

I would recommend starting off with python then make your way up to c++. Python is a super nice clean and powerful scripting language that will get you coding on your feet fast. Plus c++ and python have some intercapabilities and similarities from what i have read. I am currently introducing myself more and more to python.

I failed to mention earlier that I have some familiarity with programming in Pascal and BASIC from seconday school (equivalent of high school i think)... So I should be able to pick-up Python pretty quickly, hopefully.

Thanks you for the advise Ferman

Python would be the simples choice i'd imagine, there is a package called PyGame, which you could check out when you have gotten to know python a little bit better

http://www.pygame.org

There's plenty of "Good languages" to learn, it depends on what you want to use it for.