Clone an SSD

Terve!
I imagine there’s a pretty straight forward answer to this, so here it goes:
At the moment I’m trying to clong a 120GB M.2 SSD to a 1TB Samsung M.2 SSD the only catch is that I can’t install the second SSD in the PC that runs with the 120GB one (because it’s a shitty prebuild).
Can you recommend me a program that clones these drives?
I tried:
-Samsung Migrate Software (requires to run the 120GB Drive as a boot drive)
-EaseUs Partition master (free version, didn’t clone the drive propperly)
-didn’t try DiscDirect on Linux, because I’m not experienced with it and scared to overwrite all the configuration of the PC.
Thanks in advance.
Sayonara!

• Obtain an iso image from the sysrescuecd.org site
  • Create a bootable media (dvd, cdrom,usb stick) with this image as per the instructions on the site
  • Boot your PC from said media. Make sure you only have the SATA and NVMe drives connected to the system, plus obviously any optical readers (dvd,cdrom) for the OS.
  • In the boot menu, select the graphical environment option, then boot
  • After booting, the system presents you a terminal. Be aware this is a dangerous place. Do NOT experiment here!
  • In the menu is the tool Gparted, start this.
  • In Gparted, the top right has a drop-down menu for your disks. Pay particular attention to the path given for each disk (the part starting with /dev/)
  • Assuming your boot-disk is /dev/sda and the NVMe drive is /dev/nvme you need to issue this command in the terminal
    ddrescue -d -b=4k /dev/sda /dev/nvme
    There is more on ddrescue this page: ddrescue Man Page - Linux - SS64.com
  • Let it finish, this takes time!
  • When done, remove boot media, reboot. Disconnect SATA drive to force booting from the NVMe drive.

Done.

You should be able to grow the partition(s) with the normal Win-OS partition tools to fill your drive.

1 Like

https://clonezilla.org/