Change my mind... 10Gbe direct connections to NAS?

Hey guys and gals.
I’ve finally got a few good reasons to brush up on my woeful tech knowledge, and participate in this community a little!

[
A little about me before I launch in - skip down to my question if not interested! I’m a professional composer first, who dabbles in tech (writing a bit of software for immersive audio… and get called on by folk like google labs and sony to creatively interrogate some of their tech ideas that relate to sound/music/composition.

I’m a partner in a small studio business - which is quickly acting more and more like a small facility, and needs some tech love to help with that.
Yes - we run lots of macs here. In my little studio right now I’m surrounded by 4 of them.
Yes, I’ll be building a Zen3 TR workstation next year from the looks of things.
]

So my question to get the ball rolling is this: For the last 5 years I’ve run a small NAS over GBE to 4 workstations, serving project files. Each computer is connetected directly to the NAS via its own NIC.
I’m now looking to build a very different style of NAS (don’t judge - our old one is a synology diskstation) - and I’m looking at perhaps using 4x10GBE nics in the server and wiring straight to the workstations again. It is doubtful we will have many more then 4 workstations in this space - we just don’t have the room here!

It seems the majority of folk would install a switch. I’m unsure as to what the benefit is (other than another device to maintain) for us just serving project files back to our workstations?

I’m more inclined to potentially install a small switch just in my room so my secondary machines can share my connection to the server (though they rarely need it, its happening almost often enough to consider it).