Return to Level1Techs.com

Career Change, Looking for a place to start?

comptia-network-

Hello all!

It has been a while since I have posted as I have been busy with IRL.

I was wondering if you enigmatic people would be able to help me with something.

So long story short. I currently work in the field of healthcare. I have been doing it for 4 years post military. I have come to realise that this is not the career for me.

Now I have always been interested in security / pen-testing (Physical/software/infrastructure). However I have no formal education in this and I would probably be the first to admit that I have got lucky and brute forced a few old routers for the wifi password all my own hardware but still.

I have been told that a good place to start is obtaining CompTia Securty+ certification. I would like to slowly migrate to security consultancy however I am bare bones no clue where to start.

Do you guys think you could point me in the right direction?

Also I have noticed for many IT jobs you need to have experience to start. How do people obtain the first 3-5 years experience?

Regards,

Ultirian. :slight_smile:

1st thing you need is computer repair and networking
while you dont have to be world class it you do need familiarity of them.
second you need to choose good quality forensic distros, and get a collection of rescue, partitioning, and wiping software.

caine, parrot, Kali, Cyborg hawk,
these are 4 very powerful forensic distros (but there are quite a few more).
Viking Iso, rescatux, hirens boot cd, are good rescue and recovery (but there are a lot more also).
Parted magic, partition wizard, Gparted are 3 very good partitioning software (and are often included in a lot of distros).

D-ban (Dariks boot and nuke) (wipes a drive 37 times, far beyond DoD requirements) I use this to forensically sterilize drives.
but drive wiping apps are included in many distros or can be downloaded from their repositories

these ones are linux and Free,