Can I use a OpenVPN (or similar) to buffer very bursty connections?

This maybe a stupid question. Im a computer science student and I’m harvesting financial data. Its quiet a bit usually 3-5mbit/s but its very bursty.
When the market is busy it maxed my 50mbit/s internet connection for a couple of secounds and then falling back to 5-10mbit/s. But I seem to be missing data at the times when my connection is maxed out.

So I thought it might be possible to setup a vpn on a 100mbit+ connection and max the network buffers and queue length

Or is there a solution except faster internet?

Any reason you’re not just harvesting the data from a cloud compute instance? AWS, Azure, Linode, and Digital Ocean will all handle +500Mbit on their cheapest plans.

1 Like

If the weakest link is your connection, the slight overhead of openvpn might not help.

Could you look at a proxy host, on like a VPS? They should have plenty wide enough pipes to ingest, if you can get the data down off it?

A faster internet Would remove the bottleneck, but might be a longer term investment than a remote machine?

yes i’ve looked into vps, but as I said im a student and found the prices not very attractive. since it will be mouth’s until i gathered a useful amount of data. Also I do quite a lot of processing and the bustyness also applies to the cpu, so it would be running a 10%util just to have the headroom to cope with the bursts.

Also I’m at the point where I get ratelimited from the exchanges when I try to harvest more data, so two vpn’s would allow me to harvest twice as much.
Besides the point that its absolutly infuriating that 99% of the time my connection is enough
And if pay a bunch of money I might aswell get faster internet

Any VPN that is effectively adding an extra hop isn’t going to do you much good. As it’s just another point to lose packets.

The only way it can buffer is if it has really big queues or some how the VPN splits a TCP connection and again, buffers those Megabytes.