Can I get someone to breach my test site for the sake of argument?

So, I have a test box running at [URL removed for safety] I know the thing has been breached from some otherwise spooky behavior, but the security team needs convincing. I don’t even need to know how, but can someone back me up here? I’m a research programmer, not a hacker. I need this so I can get permission to notify users that their accounts have been breached.

Please keep to read only access. There is no good backup of that code anywhere. I’ve been trying to fix things up, but there is so much to fix…

A. No
B. That’s not your server.
C. You don’t have backups?
D. Not even a “hi from l1t” tagon the site?

Come on.

2 Likes

The production server is [URL removed for safety]

for all intents and purposes it is

I’m working on it, but bio people think copying files next to eachother counts as backups

I can add it if you want?

Check now at the main page. Message added.

why don’t you explain what it is you think is broken/vulnerable?

I think the entire site is vulnerable to php and sql injection. I’ve seen no input validation anywhere. But my forte is with C++ programming and systems, not web development. I can’t narrow down much beyond the very premise of the site I think is immediately broken.

that’s hardly an explanation : )

in broad strokes,

1. “php injection” is unlikely, unless you’ve got code which uses eval, write files from user input, or allow uploads and store those uploads in a web-accessible place.

2. “sql injection” is more likely. look at the code which interacts with the database. What database? does it use prepared statements and parameterized queries? does it use proper escaping?

It’s not possible to be more certain without auditing the code. if you’re not qualified to do this, you’d need to find someone who is.

To be clear, inviting random people to “try to break in” is not going to be productive.

3 Likes