[SOLVED] Bypass OpenVPN for web server

Hello, i am new to linux, openvpn stuff and hope you will point me in right direction.
I have Ubuntu Server with dedicated IP and it is running nginx, plex server, also it is a OpenVPN client.
I can tell that OpenVPN server is using redirect-gateway and all my traffic goes through the VPN tunnel, but i do not need it because every site i host on this machine becomes unavailable for the rest of the internet and uptimerobot says everything is down.
So…i need to use openvpn only for plex server traffic on port 32400 and leave rest of the traffic out of VPN. And i am not sure how can i achieve it.
IP Route list looks like this where tun0 is VPN interface and enp2s0 is Ethernet to ISP router.

Thanks.

If your openvpn server is pushing “redirect-gateway” you can use the “pull-filter” command in your config/cmdline to ignore the pushed “redirect gateway”:

pull-filter ignore redirect-gateway

The traditional way to route only specific traffic over a tun device is to:

1. create a new routing table
  2. Add the tun device as the default route for that route table
  3. mark the specific packets in the PREROUTING chain of the mangle table
  4. add a rule to direct all marked packets to the new routing table.

If you need help with the specific commands, I am happy to get more specific.

Edit: Although with what you have described, as long a plex is listening on 0.0.0.0/32400 (which would include your tun device’s address 10.8.0.6), ignoring the “redirect-gateway” should be enough if all of your plex traffic is coming from a 10.8.0.0/24 address.

2 Likes

I have some old scripts from a Ubuntu router I ran a year ago. Just tried to paste them, but it’s a nightmare copy/paste on phone. Will post something tomorrow when I’m at work.

Setup I ran was similar to yours. Split routing for hosting my own VPN server, load balancing on several VPN client connections, while also hosting public services on public IP.