Buying/Building computer advice?

I want advice from the experts. My brother wants to buy and or build a desktop computer. I have SOME experience building a computer but my knowledge is limited and I really should fix that…
Anyways! My brother wants a desktop to video game any type of game ,be able to record , potentially stream(not mandatory), and it should be in small form factor, if possible. He’s fine with using AMD EVERYTHING since IM just favoring team red, 8 core count and of course cost. I’ve heard many times that its best to build computers as it will always come out cheaper but there are those occasions. Cost, $1000 but $1500 max.
Advice, tips, helpful anything would be greatly appreciated!

Cookie cutter 6-core build:
Ryzen 5 3600 + B450 board + 16 GB 3200 MHz RAM + 1660 Super :smiley:

If you need 8 cores swap the 3600 for maybe a 2700X (don’t know if those are still around) or 3700X?
Want more umph in games, swap the 1660S for a 2060S or 2070(S).
The Nvidia cards just make it easier to stream from my understanding.

Ofc, if you can postpone the purchase, you can wait for Ryzen 4000 series.

Small formfactor you mean preferable itx?
Or would m-atx also be small enough?
With the new lineup of B550 boards there are some options.

I would say if you can hold on for Ryzen 4000 and next gen GPUs - beat wait…
If not - well, there are a lot of options there…
Does your friend have a monitor, cause that’s kinda important…

I thought Ryzen 4000 would be fall 2020 personally. If you are willing to wait that long then do that. Otherwise, the build suggested by @Zszywany looks great and you could probably upgrade the 1660 super to a EVGA 2060 KO for better gaming performance.

We really don´t know yet.
There been rumors around Ryzen 4000 series.
But it´s still not really clear when they will eventually being launched.
I personally expect them to be delayed to somewhere next year.