Building a retro windows 98 computer

Hello everyone!

I’m starting on my journey trying to build my original windows 98 computer, an old Pentium III Gateway with a voodoo 3 3000.

Right now this is purely conceptional, and was wondering if any of you had any ideas on a good way to find this hardware without paying ridiculous Ebay scalper prices. I’ve been trolling around goodwill for a few months with no luck either.

Any advice would be appreciated, or if you have some hardware from that era you’d like to get rid of, I’d be happy to take off your hands, for money obviously.

Thanks everyone!

Build:

Gateway 4000684 A19243-207 Socket 370 Motherboard
SL5QV CPU Pentium 3 Intel® Pentium® III 1.00 1 GHz, 256K Cache, 100 MHz FSB
SD Ram (Not sure on this yet)
Voodoo 3 3000 AGP
Creative Sound Blaster Live 5.1 PCI Sound Card SB0100
PCI networking card, probably intel.
Some IDE drive I have lying around
3.5 Floppy
CD Drive
Case - This is going to be super hard to find as I want to find the one I originally had (https://www.recycledgoods.com/gateway-tb3-performance-500-pentium-iii-500mhz-128mb-1-6gb-tower-computer/) Thats what it looked like, but it had something else where performance was)
Monitor - I actually have a gateway CRT
Keyboard - Found my original!
Mouse - Trying to find a gateway ball mouse thats not disgusting, lol.

5 Likes

My advice, don’t do it, it will ruin any pleasant memories you have from your original machine…

…I still have my 20 year old Voodoo2, one day I will build a machine to put it in and play rainbow six, unreal and quake 2.

1 Like

I actually do this quite frequently with other PCs I owned when I was younger.

I recently did a Pentium 4 windows XP build, and love it. It’s a hobby of mine as a collector. I appreciate your insight though.

1 Like

Yeah, I get you. I have revisited many old machines. C64, Amiga 600, 1200 and Amiga cd32. After playing a few old games I sell them and go back to emulators.