Building a new PC and want it to double as a NAS Home server. Please help

Hi guys, I’m about to finish building a PC that I would like to use as a multipurpose machine. Productivity, editing, gaming and use it as a home backup & NAS media server. I currently use a 4-bay QNAP NAS but it’s a few years old and stutters like crazy when playing larger 30-70 GB 4K content. I’m a best quality vs large file size kind of guy, so I don’t mind having large files. Transcoding is also not very good in my opinion and I notice a big drop in quality. Video/audio passthru would be ideal if that’s even possible. Does anyone have any recommendations?

I’ve heard of FreeNas, Unraid and very little about virtual machines but I plan on using Windows 10 as the OS for my PC. I have zero experience when it comes to using linux but I think I could learn if I needed to. Also the majority of articles, youtube videos and posts related to this topic are a few years old. Not to mention that they specify using an older spare PC as the NAS but, I don’t have an old spare PC for that scenario. I’ve been using a macbook pro for as long as I can remember. This will be my first actual home desktop PC.

I’m hoping that my PC will be able to stream/output my saved, large 4K content to my LG B9 4K TV using the graphics card’s HDMI 2.1 port and play smoothly with no stutter or hiccups. I’ve been using plex media server for all my content and have a pretty large library and would like to continue to use it on this PC / NAS if possible.

How can I turn this main PC into a home backup NAS server? I would really appreciate any help or advice that you have. I’ll put the PC specs down below if that will help at all. Thank you guys.
PC specs:
CPU = AMD 5900X
GPU = RTX 3080
PSU = Corsair RM 850x
RAM = 32GB 3600 CL16 Crucial Ballistix
MoBo = MSI X570 Tomahawk
Boot drive = 1TB Samsung 970 evo plus
Storage drive = 2TB Samsung 860 evo

and I have about 15-20TB of backup files and media content on my QNAP.