Building a 10-100w distributed ARM based multimetia transcode cluster : I missed Devember -> Jobless January -> Freezing February -> Magic March

TLDR; I’m a student, so missed devember (:sob:) and with the current world situation, I’m no longer in a position to be a student.

All this to say I have more time on my hands than I expected, so time to update my lab and learn something new! So let’s build a distributed, load balanced multimedia processing cluster that teaches me: Cuda, ffmpeg, aarch64, nodeJS/kubernetes, distributed computing optimization and how to manage a large project

(please share any thoughts, feedback, ideas below! I’m trying to challenge myself!)

What’s the problem?

I’m currently running some old xeons (2*5670 from the x58 era) as my school computer/workstation and they aren’t exactly the most efficient devices in the world. I’m also a big movie buff when I have the time so run a Plex Server for both myself and my friends and family. Currently my power usage is much higher than I’m comfortable with (system idles north of 100W and maxes out at ~400 when transcoding or I’m doing development work). Essentially, just isn’t efficient enough to justify running long term.

What I’m trying to learn:

Learning Goals

I’m pretty comfortable with C programming (and some x86 assembly), standard networking (Vlans, wireless etc.), but have never done much in the way of GPGPU programing (cuda or OpenCL), distributed compute or work on embedded/arm32/64 platforms.

What I’m trying to achieve:

End Goal

Build a low power cluster of arm SOC/SOM’s that can handle plex trans coding of up to 6 HEVC 4K30p10b HDR to SDR 2k30p8b H264 seamlessly, with tone mapping when needed at as low a total deployment cost as possible.

Ideally the foot print would also fit in something like a bit phoenix prodigy, idle at ~10w and peak no higher than 100w under full load, minus my workstation.

Components:

Hardware and software needed

Hardware: