Build for a Data Plumber

Hi,

I’ve put together a basic build outline and would love some feedback to make sure I’m on the right track.

The build is for my freelance business, I’m basically a data plumber for SMBs. Most of my work is pulling, cleaning, and consolidating data for my clients. Generally, I’m working with less than 100k records, but a couple times a year I processes datasets with 40+ million records (10GB-15GB total). My current setup, a Lenovo Legion 7 laptop w/ AMD Ryzen 9 5900HX and 32GB RAM, keeps having problems so I’m switching to a desktop.

Also, I’m starting to migrate from Windows 10 to Linux and want a Linux friendly system that will allow me to run a Windows VM for a couple apps.

My budget ranges from $2k-$6k USD, but my outlines are closer to $3k.

I’m looking at:

• Ryzen 9 5900X
  • 64GB DDR4
  • Radeon RX 6800 XT or Nvidia 3080
    or
  • Intel i7-12700k
  • 64GB DDR5
  • Radeon RX 6800 XT or Nvidia 3080

A couple doubts/questions I have are:

• How does Alder Lake’s new architecture work with VMs? My research so far shows that it is still pretty weak.
  • Nvidia is tempting, but I hear that Radeon is friendlier with Linux. Is that still the case?
  • A Threadripper 3960X is tempting, but is so expensive and I’m not sure it provides enough value to justify the price. If you disagree, I’m willing to be persuaded otherwise.
  • ECC or not to ECC? (Found some Micron DDR4-3200 32GB ECC memory that is tempting).
1 Like

I would suspect this depends on which cores are assigned to the VM - Alder lake has a BIG.little architecture and the Performance cores will still run circles around the E cores. So a VM assigned to two E cores will perform noticably worse than a VM assigned to two P cores.