Build a PC to live stream our church service

Hi. I'm a brand new member here. Not sure if this topic will end up in the right section on this forum.

I'm a volunteer on the tech team at our congregation but am an amateur. I need advice on building a Windows PC to live stream our service. Actually we need more than 1 PC, so inexpensive would be good. The PC only needs to encode the signal coming from our media booth to the streamer's video capture card and then push the stream online to our streaming service. It doesn't have to do anything else. Right now we're getting by with Dell Optiplex 780 towers with Windows 7, quad core 2.66 GHz CPU, onboard video (no dedicated video card), 4GB DDR2 ram, Osprey 240e card, and using Xsplit Broadcaster which is free for non-profits. We do not stream in HD yet, but it would be good to have streamers that are capable of doing that. Now we stream at 640x480 and under 1,000 kbps total video plus audio. The 780s have low memory and CPU usage when streaming, but trying to increase the total kbps much over 1,000 causes problems with the stream. We would like to use Open Broadcaster/OBS but we can't get the software to install on these computers. Xsplit seems to need less resources and installs with no problem.

I saw a great video from Tek Syndicate about building a cheap gaming PC for about $350.00, but it's years old. Also we won't be gaming, just encoding and pushing.

We already have keyboards, mice, monitors, and Windows OSes. We just need hardware to build the computers. We're looking for the best bang for the buck and something that will allow HD when we're ready. Actually some of the streams will never be HD, so a build for HD and a cheaper build for SD as described above would be great.

Info:

• Located in USA
  • build under $400.00 if possible
  • we won't do overclocking
  • no preferred retailer as long as it's proven reliable
  • no water cooling, just air
  • no CD/DVD drive, we have a USB model