Blender video editor only using single thread

After using Blender for several months as a video editor, I began looking at my CPU utilization during a render; I was seeing an average of 35%. I began looking for ways to speed this up. I played with various settings in Blender with the hopes of reducing my render times, none were successful.

I also began to wonder if the problem may have something to do with Windows 10. I installed Manjaro and promptly downloaded Blender and tried the same test. No change, my render times were virtually identical.

Time to test Kdenlive. I had downloaded this software before, but I never put any time into learning it. I put the render settings as close as possible to those I had set in Blender and rendered out the same video I was testing with in Blender. WOW, what a difference. My render time in Kdenlive was 22 seconds. CPU utilization was near 100% throughout the rendering process. The render time in Blender was 1:28, basically four times slower. It appears to me that, at least with my hardware setup, Blender is only using the equvilant of one processing core for rendering video from the sequence editor.

If anyone else is experiencing this and knows a solution, please let me know. For those having the same issue and looking for an alternative, give Kdenlive a shot.

3 Likes

Very interesting. Can you supply more information on software versions used, codecs and hardware? And can you describe the kind of workload a bit more? Did you use transitions, animations or anything?

I am currently using Blender 2.77a. I am using an H.264 codec and MP3 audio output into an MPEG-4 container. My test video was a game clip recorded in 1080p at 60fps. My hardware is an Asus Z87 Hero with a i5 4670K @ 4.6Ghz 16GB DDR3 and a GTX780. Custom water cooling on the GPU and CPU; neither are overheating.