Bioinformatics workstation build - 4x m.2s on X570 with ZFS?

Hi! I’m new and I’m configuring a bioinformatics workstation.

I’ll be doing quite a bit of data analysis in R so plenty of ram and good single-threaded performance is desireable. I’ll also be doing some devops stuff testing an deploying R shiny apps and tools for a bioinformatic workflow manager called galaxy. Also I’d like to have a system with a good upgrade path.

I’ll probably be running plasma KDE neon and now it’s available in 20.04 zfs on root, so i’d like to have ECC memory.

In addition, this is leading me to some questions about how to layout my storage. I was thinking it would be nice to create a Zpool consisting of 4 m.2 NVMe SSDs and 2 HDDs. I’d mirror 2 of the ssds for my log/write cache, 2 for my l2arc/read cache and mirror the 2 HDDs for some redundancy. Feel free to tell me this is a crazy way to layout my zfs setup - I’m new to it.

Now i’m having trouble figuring out if this is an achievable config with a 3800X and an 570 chipset - can I get 4 PCIe lanes to each of my 4 M.2s and have enough left over for my GPU?

My current thinking is this:

• Mother board: gigabyte x570 aorus master
  • CPU: Ryzen 3800X
  • GPU: RX 580
  • Storage:
    • 2x 10Tb seagate ironwolf pros
    • 4x 1Tb WD blue NVMe SSD m.2 (PCIe gen 3)
    • M.2 card?
  • RAM 4x 32Gb DIMMs (Crucial CT32G4RFD4266 32 GB DDR4 2666 MT/s)

My understanding is that there are 24 lanes on the CPU, 4 are reserved for the chipset but that the 570 chipset can somehow wangle the equivalent of 16 lanes out of these 4 so I should be able to run 2 of the m.2 on the built-in slots that go via the chipset, with some chipset lanes for my SATA drives. Then I can use 8 of the remaining 20 lanes on to run the other 2 m.2s on an expansion card (I could do with a recommendation of a suitable one) with my GPU at x8 instead of x16.