Beyerdynamic DT 880 Premiums or something else?

I’m a freelance graphic designer so I tend to spend long hours in front of a computer listening to music. When I’m out and about I have some Shure SE215 IEM’s that are perfect for me – they have clear mids and treble, with a punchy and impactful bass, especially on the extended bass. They’re great.

When I’m at the PC, however, I’m not so fortunate and I’m looking to change that. I’ve got a gaming headset that’s the Logitech G35 (closed) but the pads have started to disintegrate (common problem, apparently) and they are quite muddy in sound generally – they’re your typical gaming headset. I also don’t find them that comfortable. What I’m looking to do, is get a new set of headphones that I can use for music, movies and gaming (when gaming I’d attach something like a modmic 4.0 by Antlion.

I’m looking for a good set of headphones that have a fairly analytical, clear sound ideal for gaming (especially FPS’ where you need to hear footsteps etc.), but don’t lack mids or bass and a good soundstage for positional audio. I don’t mind semi-open or open headphones because I’m in a quiet room with little noise to block out or no one to bother, at a desktop.

I’m looking into the Beyerdynamic DT 880 Premium’s at the moment for comfort, (but I’m up for suggestions) and my budget is up to £300.

My motherboard is the Asus Maximum Hero VI and I’m wondering whether it could power a 250 OHM headset like the DT880’s or if I’d need to get a dedicated amp to power them (I’d need to save up a bit, but I’m thinking a reasonable amp like the Objective 2 by Mayflower Electronics might be the solution here).

TL;DR:

1. Can the Asus Maximus Hero VI motherboard power the DT 880’s?

2. …or do I need a dedicated amp? If so which one is best and will power it?

3. Are there any other headphones you would recommend for my needs over the DT880’s?

which incarnation of Asus Maximus Hero VI

z87

z97