Best solution for securing two subnets

Requirements: 2 groups of clients

TEAM will have clients that allow remote access through various technologies (zoom, ssh, sftp)
TEAM will have NAS
PRIVATE will have clients for personal work and allow no remote access
PRIVATE has to be safe from potential malware/disease infecting TEAM
PRIVATE has to be able to access NAS in TEAM group
PRIVATE has to be invisible to TEAM and inaccessible from TEAM

Choice 1: VLAN capable router. make 2 vlans. PRIVATE, TEAM.
assign static ips to all clients and separate them into appropriate VLAN
In this case how do I get a private client to access NAS on team VLAN?
(I am just a novice so please use little words)

Choice 2: 2 commodity routers with fewer features
OUTER router has 10.0.0.0 and a DMZ host set to 10.0.0.100… Assign NAS ip 10.0.0.1
Assign static ip of wan port of inner router, 10.0.0.100 and lan address range of 192.168.1.0
In this case, could i get to the NAS by typing ‘smb://10.0.0.1’ on a private client?

One quick comment. That NAS being accessible by both is a malware vector. The NAS itself will probably be safe, but it would be easy to upload a malware file.

This is where the anti-virus scanners that run on Linux come into play. But of course AV is not infallible.

And while I’m thinking about it you might want to put the NAS on a 3rd VLAN.

And you mentioned a router. With a few subnets, a router and firewall rules you may not need any VLAN at all.

I like to make big whiteboard network diagrams and right now I’m just pulling this out of my imagination so don’t take me too seriously.

Thank you for your off the cuff but honest reply. I really do not see the difference between two consumer grade routers and the other option of a router and a firewall. The firewall actually requires more brain cells on my part because now I have to think about ports and rules.