Best Linux Distro 2016

I'm fairly new to Linux but would like to get more into it as I'm just sick of OSX and Windows- I need more customisation.
I'd also like to use the command line a little more but still be able to do things through the GUI if need be.
What would the best distro be for me as almost a 'beginner' user?

There's a lot of them, personally I use CentOS due to a lot of the software I use officially supports it. However most of the Ubuntu spins are pretty user friendly, and have a lot of support out there, so personally I'd look at one of the Ubuntu spins.

If you want to learn something, you could try Arch. I found setting it up fun - and you are not going to have anything installed you don't need (Since you need to install everything by hand).

That being said, Arch may not be suitable for beginners. You can start with Arch, if you want to learn something though. (The same could be said about Gentoo, but I haven't tried that myself)

Afaik the most user friendly Linux distro should by Ubuntu.

Ubuntu is a great new user distro - as is Mint. Both are debian based.

Opensuse Leap 42.1 has the best range of system tools and is very VERY stable.

Fedora Workstation is also very good, but does not come with any of the usual 'media' support - you will need to install mp3 support etc - if you like Fedora but want all the candy included by default try Korora

Manjaro is the most user friendly Arch derived distro but is not as newbie friendly as the above. Being Arch based it does have fantastic documentation though.

Another newbie friendly distro is Elementary OS - looks a bit like a Mac environment.

Have a good look on http://distrowatch.com and watch a few reviews on youtube - then dive in and begin learning.

1 Like