[Solved?] Being the Linux guy

I am currently in my fourth year at my University studying Software Engineering. I have come to notice that throughout all of my courses I am really the only person who uses Linux or Open source software on a regular basis and typically is my go to solution. There have been others in this space, but most I have noticed use Linux or “the terminal” in a brief or superficial way.

I bring this up as I have been more or less labeled the “Linux guy” and I get a lot of questions when others have to use Linux in any capacity or when Mac users get lost in using their terminal. I have no problem with being that supportive person people need, but it tends to be sometimes complex or hard to explain how things work or how to go about a problem. I also have rather good troubleshooting skills, so its not a big deal.

My problem is that people notice that I know a thing or two about an OS and that I can figure problems out, and I tend to get bombarded with a lot of questions, sometimes that are outside my scope of knowledge. I do feel confident in a lot of ways about my skill set in this regard, but I have been noticing that people tend to think rather highly of me on the level of someone who is an expert when I don’t have as much as knowledge on the topic as an expert would have.

Has anyone experienced anything like this before, and if not, how would you handle a situation like this? Also, it can be tough at times to explain the mindset of using a CLI over a GUI in some situations as it just is easier to run a command vs explain a user interface. Is there any easy way to explain this to people that “just don’t get it”?

Thanks in Advance!

4 Likes

I forget where i read/heard this, but its true… you don’t realise how well you do or do not understand something until you have to explain it to others.