Asus m5a97 r2.0 vs. Gigabyte 990FXA-D3 for overclocking FX 8350

First of i am new to AMD and overclocking it. This is my first time owning AMD cpu. I already bought the fx 8350 but i need to buy a motherboard still. So what do you think.
The asus one has a UEFI bios, but the gigabyte doesn't, asus one also looks nicer but that's not a real concern. All i want to know is which one is gonna help me get a higher score.
I don't know what to look for when buying an overclocking mobo 990FX has to be better than 970.

From experience the m5a97 has a weaker vrm and won't have a ton of overclock headroom, the UD3 is a beast on the other hand!

this is D3 tho, but i don't think that will effect the overclocking that much 

The M5A97 r2.0 has a 4+2 phase design with their VRM, with a heatsink, while the 990FXA-D3 has an un-heatsinked 4+1 design.  So the ASUS wins by virtue of a heatsink.

The Gigabyte board, though, has a bit more connectivity, and slightly better audio.

If you want to actually overclock, you'll want to invest in a better motherboard - something in the $130 range, with great VRM capacity.  Like what Cathsy said, the Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 is a great bang for the buck board.  Another great one is the ASUS M5A99FX-PRO.

990FXA-UD3 is $20 more expensive than this one tho.  Ill se what i can do but so far the asus one wins it. 

I would go either on the m5a97 r2.0 EVO or msi 970 GAMING, or even the asus M5a99fx pro...

Don't get one of the above you said for OC a fx 8350, you'd fry the mobo within a year.

That being said, I have the M5a97 r2.0 (not evo) and a fx 8320 at 3.8ghz stable and its running well, If you're not going to OC then the ASUS is fine and better

Msi 970A Gaming.

could be a good in the middle choice.

I would get that UD3 or the M5a99fx, i wouldnt go with a low end board if your going to overclock your 8350!