Arduino serial data export to database?

Hi guys!

I'm just starting out with coding and DIY electronics. I have an upcoming project in which i will build a power meter using the Arduino and the ACS712. I have so far been successful in reading voltage and current from the serial monitor in the Arduino IDE. My goal is to build a webpage where the results will be presented, as well as the integral of the power-time graph.

I have a RPI which i will use as a web server and database. The idea is to use the USB interface to transfer the serial data to the Pi. I have so far established a connection between the Arduino and the RPI and been able to read the serial data using Minicom.

My question is, how would i set up a database which imports the serial data and presents it in four different categories?
I need a database with the following categories: time, voltage, current and power (watts). Which database is most suitable for my purposes? Mysql or Sqlite?

How would i differentiate the float the values sent by the Arduino from each other so that the database understands which value is voltage and what value is current?

Hope you guys can bring some clarity in to my issues!

/J

In short, the database can't directly import the data by itself. You need a program (or script, or whatever) to do it.

If you only need to store that data, it wont matter for you. Just pick the one you are most comfortable with or is easier to deploy in your case.

As said before, the database wont get it for you. You need to tell it which is which.

There are many ways to implement this, but i would just do a simple script in whatever language you are most comfortable with. This script will recieve the data from the Arduino and get it uploaded onto the database.

You can diferenciate between values by tagging them when you pass them onto the script, or by always putting them on the same order. That way your script can tell which is which and can upload them into the correct category.