Anyone have luck with high-end audio quality with VFIO?

Hi there!

I recently got a medium-high end DAC/AMP as I’m a beginner audiophile. Without any tweaking, it made things sound a little bit better, but not a whole lot. As I started to tweak, I messed around with the sampling rate in Linux and it made my system sound even better! After enjoying some music, I decided to load up my windows 10 guest with passthrough stuff to play some games.

It’s important to note that I have PulseAudio grabbing the sound from my guest, so I can hear the host audio and guest audio through the same source at the same time.

All of a sudden, I have audio crackling in my guest.

For the record, I’ve had this problem before and I’ve already configured the MSI Interrupt stuff to fix it. My audio has been really good for months.

After some research and messing around with my XML file for about an hour, I decided to revert my Linux audio settings to what they had been before this mess. That fixed the crackling. Also, yes I did mess with the sampling rate in windows to make sure it matched Linux.

So, this isn’t the worst problem, things technically work fine. I just wanted to know if there was anyone else who has been in the same spot as me who has been able to upgrade their sound in the VM, or if for some reason it isn’t possible.

Thanks all!

Linux audio is probably one of the few areas where it’s just a real pain.

I don’t really have a fix other than to suggest that you consider another dac/amp and pass it to the guest.

I have the MayFlower Electronics ARC and had similar issues as you, but did not find any solutions. Mainly replying to get any useful information that may come.

Right now… I ended up just hooking the USB up to my KVM. Not great though as I don’t get host sounds for notifications and such.