Any suggestions on a Professional Camera & equipment for a Camera noob

I am not a professional photographer and don't plan on being one, but I would like to buy a nice camera so that I can start taking great pictures and doing things with them in Photoshop. I have no idea where to start, which features are important and which are not. What lenses I should look at and ones to skip. I'm just an average Joe who wants to take nice pictures and make art with them.

Things I plan on shooting...

• Close up photos of small objects, like coins, action figures, flowers, etc...
  • Night time shots of urban environments, city skylines, night skys, etc...
  • Slightly interested in video work, but it's not that's important.

And who knows what else, but those are the main things. Obviously I'm hoping to save as much money as I can, so are there any products I should totally ignore for this type of work?

Well do you have a budget?

Otherwise you probably just want something that can shoot to RAW, I dunno much otherwise, some people can do crazy things with their cellphone cameras.

Not really. I know that makes it difficult, but I don't want to rule anything out. I don't want to spend thousands of dollars, but I don't want to regret my purchase either.

If you want me to throw out a number I'll say $300, but I'm not dead set on that number, because I have no idea what I'm doing. Ha!

A One Plus One? I think it's the lowest priced phone with a pretty good camera, plus you get a shiny new phone, what's your current phone?

HTC One M8

It's got a decent camera as far as phones go... but it's still a phone, and in low light I think ANY phone is gonna suck.

Seems like there can be some issues getting RAW on the M8, the M9 can do it no problem

http://forums.androidcentral.com/htc-one-m8/528224-m8-pictures-raw.html

Canon 1200D is a good beginner DSLR. A tripod will come in handy from time to time, but as it is a hassle to cary arround you might want to save the money.