Any keyboard recommendations for somebody who loves the Magic Keyboard from Apple?

I am a software developer, I have been using the Magic Keyboard A1644 for years, and it’s by far my favorite keyboard when it comes to typing comfort (key travel, clickyness etc.). I also love that it’s wireless, helping to keep my desk free from clutter.

However it does have some big disadvantages:

• Mac keyboard layout and stupidly positioned fn key, needs a patched hid-apple to be somewhat usable
  • Compact layout, no numpad, no pageup/pagedown, annoying cramped arrow keys
  • Slow to respond on first keypress after it’s been idle for a while. For example, if I press “Ctrl+T” it often only registers the “T”, which is annoying.

Are there any other wireless keyboards out there that are close to the Magic Keyboard when it comes to “typing feel”, but full sized and more Linux friendly? (No Mac keyboard layout)

2 Likes

I have no experience with these types of keyboards outside official Apple stuff so cannot speak to the quality but stuff like what you want does exist. I would just be maybe suspect about the quality.

That said I did recently order a numpad/macropad in this design and when it arrives I will let you know what it is like, though they are all different and knowing Aliexpress even the same item can have some variance one to the next.

I did how ever find this:

Edit: and a huge variety of slightly different version Like this which is inbuilt battery and slightly different layout with the Fn key though still not actual Bluetooth and instead a 2.4GHz USB dongle

Also the slow wake up seems to be a thing for some boards. I am using and Anne Pro 60% mechanical Bluetooth keyboard right now and it also wakes up slowly after being left alone for a while so not sure if that is something that gets better with other boards.

2 Likes