Another Linux noob here with annoying problems!

Hey guys, long time viewer of the tek, and bee viewing the site for a while but I've largely been inactive on the forums. But I do need help, and I'm confident you guys can help me!

So, I've recently purchased an Acer Aspire V3 771G-9809 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834215672R

I was having some trouble getting any distro's of Linux to install, and I've encountered the classic 'black screen' issue when attempting to install, and using 'nomodeset' in the grub line wasn't working, and neither was 'acpi=0' !!

So, I attempted to use the lubuntu alternate installer (12.10 x64) because I heard it works on machines with problems like this, and it works!!! It ran the installer and will now boot into the OS! unfortunately I still get a black screen after the lubuntu splash screen /cry.

I attempted to edit the grub line after 'quiet splash' and add 'nomodeset' and it hung at the splash screen. Then I attempted to add 'acpi=0' to the grub line and it got past the splash screen, but I got the black screen issue again. So, I tried adding both, and it hangs at the splash screen. WHAT DO I DO?!?! I have been praying  to great Odin's beard for aid, and he has yet to answer my calls. tek syndicate! You can help me!

Go in the bios, disable the nVidia GPU, install/configure on the Intel GPU only. After that, reenable the nVidia GPU in BIOS and disable the Intel one, the system will boot through on VESA drivers, and you can use Jockey to install the proprietary nVidia driver.