Animation Student, need help with custom rig

Hello there community members, as I have vaguely stated, I am a traditional/stopmotion animation student.  As of right now the computers I own are sub par for the work I am doing in school.  I am mostly working with a professional digital paint tool called Toon Boom Harmony, and a stop motion program called DragonFrame.  I also use Adobe photoshop and Illustrator CS6 heavily for illustration and concept art.  I was looking into possibly buying a new PC for my school workbut unfortunately most of the offerings from different companies are still out of my budget and seem underspeced.  I was hoping By the end of the semester to have saved up enough cash to build my own.

I know my way around computers and have helped with a few PC builds in the past, so I have an idea of what to look for but I am not really the best at trying to find the best deals to fit within a certain budget and or don't know the quality fo each brand.  

So here's the deal, I will have a budget of 1000 dollars by december.  I do not own a copy of Windows 7 at all, I only have Windows Vista 64bit (I know, I know).  Can any one of you help me piece together a realtively good rig so that I can  1.) Be able to fluently do my work in Toon Boom, Dragon frame, and Adobe software, and 2.) Allow me to play game like Battlefield 3, Metro 2033 etc.

I have heard that the i5 2500k is still a reall good cpu , so I would like to have that as a must component, along with windows 7 professional .  Thanks all for reading and I hope you can help me out.  If you look at my computers and gear, you will now why I need help, hahaha, Thanks all again!    

Build a system around a Core i5 with at least 8GB of ram, I'll work something out after I get back from the farmers market, and hello fellow animator, I do 3D animation, but I focus on 3D modelling, and I do video editing/compositing/effects as well.