[AMD GPU] I won the Cougar PC and need a GPU, should I get Vega or wait?

So I’m a student in Electrical Engineering Technology and I do work with Autocad and some simulation programs. I’ll need both the compute power and the rendering for games :slight_smile: and I’m not very fond of Nvidia despite their great hardware. I like to dual-boot Linux and I’ll need to be working with Linux later for Arduino anyways, so I wanted to steer clear of the proprietary graphics of Nvidia, even if I’ll take a performance hit in regards to OpenCL.

I don’t need a GPU yet in this PC, I still play a lot of old games and I have another PC that I use for the heavy workloads right now.

So, should I wait for the next AMD flagship, go for Vega, or do something different?

Edit: To update with the discussion below, Autocad, gaming, spreadsheets, simulations (CPU based), and video editing are my workloads. Most are suggesting to get Vega 56 once aftermarket versions are available.

• Vega 56/64
  • Wait for next AMD flagship
  • Other [Nvidia]
  • Other [AMD]
  • None of the above

0 voters

Proof

Night Pics

I chose “Other (AMD)” because you should wait for Sapphire and ASUS’ aftermarket Vega 56. The Sapphire one looks the most overclockable, (3 8pin PCI-E is insane, but necessary) while the ASUS one has the Aura sync to bling out your RGB.

3 Likes

@FurryJackman
Do you think that the 8 additional compute units would be worth it for the price? (Autocad and other compute loads)

Edit: It looks like the Vega 64 is ~10% faster for compute loads but 25% pricier.

I think it depends which you want the machine to be primarily, a workstation, or a gaming machine.
If you want it to be a workstation, it might be worth looking at this: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/syscert?siteID=123112&id=18844534&results=1&stype=graphic&suite_group=121&release=2014&edition=2&os=8192&manuf=2&opt=1

1 Like

@Eddie00773