AMD dual-graphics based laptops

G'day from Australia!

I've seen in my local PC stores AMD laptops with dual-graphics built in. Now I realise these systems are APU based with a dedicated GPU meaning they are hybrid systems. Has anyone actually had a chance to play around with the A10 versions? If so, how do they perform in your opinion compared to an i7/i5 for around the same price? How is the gaming performance on these? Oh and do they get hot?

Thanks for entertaining us and keeping us informed!

sKumbag70

Hey skumbag,

New user here, but I can partly answer your question.  

I have an HP sporting the AMD A10 with the 7660G integrated graphics chip.  
It's important to realize the the xxxxG series AMD cards are in fact integrated graphics.
They will run most games on low settings.  I can get acceptable playability on BF3, Borderlands 2, RIFT, and Black Ops 2 with low settings at 768p.

I have had a lot of experience with an i7/7750m hybrid system as well.  I know you were asking about the AMD varient of hybrid systems, but I did a lot of research into those as well.  Personally, I find the 7750 to be all I'd ever need for gaming.  It could run every game I threw at it on 1080p with high settings.  Problem is it did get VERY hot.  Sadly, I heard that the Intel hybrid systems usually run cooler than the AMD competition.